Breaking News

Tag Archives: Congress

Maharashtra government to be sworn in tomorrow

The swearing in of the new Congress – NCP ministry in Maharashtra will take place tomorrow with the end of the fortnight-long deadlock over government formation in the state after the assembly elections brought the two parties to power for ... Read More »

NCP chief Sharad Pawar rules out merger with Congress

Ahead of assembly polls in Maharashtra, NCP chief Sharad Pawar on Wednesday ruled out the possibility of merger with Congress, terming as “cheap publicity” statements in this regard made by that party. “I can’t understand why these days they are ... Read More »

Congress wants PM to undo Balochistan damage

The Congress on Monday made it public that it wanted Manmohan Singh to repair the political damage from the controversial Indo-Pak joint statement – a development that reinforced the perception of a disconnect between the party and the prime minister ... Read More »

Rita Bahuguna Joshi’s bail plea hearing today

Moradabad (UP), July 17 (ANI): A district court will today hear a bail plea of Uttar Pradesh Congress unit chief Rita Bahuguna Joshi. On Thursday, the court deferred the hearing of Joshi’s second application for bail till today. An earlier ... Read More »

Congress calls for statewide shutdown in Chhattisgarh

Raipur, July 14 (ANI): Chhattisgarh Pradesh Congress Committee on Tuesday called for a statewide shutdown in the wake of killing of 30 police personnel including a Superintendent of Police by Naxalites here. The opposition Congress in the State has been ... Read More »

Gates seeks 700 mn dollars for Pak counter-insurgency fund

Washington, June 10 (ANI): US Defence Secretary Robert Gates wants Congress’ support for 700 million dollars for the Pakistan Counter-insurgency Capability Fund (PCCF) for 2010, as part of a massive 130 billion dollars request for overseas contingency operations for Afghanistan ... Read More »

19 ministers to be sworn in

New Delhi, May 22 (ANI): With barely four hours to go before Dr. Manmohan Singh is sworn in as Prime Minister for a second consecutive term, sources have revealed that along with him, 19 ministers, a majority of them from ... Read More »