Breaking News

ICC Champions Trophy 2009: Edwards, Powell in Windies squad

In a surprising move, West Indies named Fidel Edwards and Darren Powell, both boycotting national duty owing to a contract dispute, in its 30-member provisional squad for the Champions Trophy to be held in South Africa from September 22 to October 5.

While the second string squad, which lost the Test series at home against Bangladesh, forms the core of the Champions Trophy team, Edwards and Powell are surprise inclusions since they had joined Chris Gayle and other frontline players who boycotted the series against Bangladesh.

Opener Devon Smith and youngsters Kieron Pollard and Andre Fletcher have also been named among the probables. The West Indies will be in Group A along with Pakistan, India and Australia.

The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) has been forced to name a weakened squad since its ongoing dispute with the West Indies Players’ Association (WIPA) shows no signs of a solution.

The WIPA has sought government’s intervention to solve the impasse, while WICB has written to each and every protesting player, saying they have been breaching their contract by staying away from national duty.

The WICB also said it would soon start distributing money it owes to the players but ruled out a renogotiation.


Ryan Austin, Christopher Barnwell, David Bernard, Tino Best, Royston Crandon, Romel Currency, Travis Dowlin, Fidel Edwards, Rayad Emrit, Andre Fletcher, Ryan Hinds, Leon Johnson, Anthony Martin, Kevin McClean, Nikita Miller, Nelon Pascal, Brenton Parchment, Omar Phillips, Daren Powell, Kieran Powell, Floyd Reifer, Dale Richards, Kemar Roach, Darren Sammy, Shane Shillingford, Devon Smith, Kevin Stoute, Devon Thomas, Gavin Tonge and Chadwick Walton.

About admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *