Breaking News

Delhi Daredevils beat Kolkata Knight Riders by 7 wickets

Delhi Daredevils thrashed Kolkata Knight Riders by 7 wickets to win the 39th match of the second edition of the Indian Premier League at New Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg on Sunday.

Delhi achieved the victory target of 124 runs in 17.1 overs with AB de Villiers top scoring with an unbeaten 40 that came off 32 balls and was studded with 5 fours.

Delhi leg-spinner Amit Mishra was adjudged the Man of the Match for taking 3 wickets.

Dinesh Karthik too remained not out on a 22-ball 17.

Delhi Daredevils were 72/3 in 10 overs.

Delhi got off to a steady start with captain Gautam Gambhir and David Warner putting up a 53-run stand.

Gambhir hit 3 fours in his 18-run knock that came off 24 balls before he edged a Moises Henriques delivery to point for Brad Hodge to take the catch.

Warner hit a six and 5 fours in his 36-run knock off 23 balls before edging a Ishant Sharma delivery to keeper Morne van Wyk for the catch.

Three deliveries later, Ishant took his second wicket having Tillakaratne Dilshan (1) caught at fine leg by Henriques.

Earlier, Sourav Ganguly and Ajit Agarkar came up with useful knocks as Kolkata Knight Riders scored 123/8 in 20 overs.

Ganguly, who came to open the innings with McCullum, hit 2 sixes and a four in his 45-ball 44, while Agarkar chipped in with a 39-run knock that came off 29 balls and was studded with 2 sixes and 3 fours to take Kolkata to a respectable total.

For Delhi, leg-spinner Amit Mishra took 3 wickets, while Ashish Nehra and Dirk Nannes took 2 wickets each.

Put in to bat, Kolkata got off to a poor start losing two wickets in the first over. Nehra was lucky to get a leg before decision in his favour to dismiss Kolkata captain Brendon McCullum (6) even though the ball was going over the stumps.

Three deliveries later, Nehra had Brad Hodge (0)caught at first slip by AB de Villiers to reduce Kolkata to 7/2.

Nannes struck in the next over when Morne van Wyk (0) pulled to square leg for Rajat Bhatia to take the catch.

Mishra then struck twice in his first over to increase Kolkata’s misery. He first had Yashpal Singh (13) caught by Bhatia at deep extra cover and three deliveries later, had Wriddhiman Saha (0) caught behind by Dinesh Karthik.

Nannes dismissed Ganguly by having him caught by David Warner at backward point, while Pradeep Sangwan had Agarkar caught by Mithun Manhas at mid-wicket on the last ball of the Kolkata innings.

Kolkata have replaced Ashok Dinda with debutant Sourav Sarkar, while Delhi are unchanged from their last match.


Delhi Daredevils: Gautam Gambhir (Capt.), David Warner, AB de Villiers, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Dinesh Karthik, Mithun Manhas, Rajat Bhatia, Amit Mishra, Pradeep Sangwan, Ashish Nehra, Dirk Nannes.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Brendon McCullum (Capt.), Morne van Wyk, Brad Hodge, Moises Henriques, Sourav Ganguly, Yashpal Singh, Wriddhiman Saha, Ajit Agarkar, Murali Kartik, Ishant Sharma, Sourav Sarkar.

About admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *