Breaking News

Delhi Daredevils beat Chennai Super Kings by 9 runs

Delhi Daredevils beat Chennai Super Kings by 9 runs in the ninth match of the second edition of the Indian Premier League at Kingsmead in Durban on Thursday.

Chasing a victory target of 190 runs, Chennai managed 180/9 in their 20 overs.

AB de Villiers was adjudged the Man of the Match for his unbeaten century, while Pradeep Sangwan took the bowling honours for Delhi taking 3 wickets in his 4 overs and Matthew Hayden, who was presented with the orange cap for being the leading run scorer of the tournament, top scored for Chennai.

Chennai were in the chase even after the dismissals of captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Suresh Raina, but they lost 5 wickets in the last 5 overs and that resulted in their second defeat of the tournament.

Daniel Vettori accounted for Dhoni (5) by having him caught behind and Raina hit a six and 5 fours in his 41-run knock that came off 27 balls before he was caught by AB de Villiers at long-off off Sangwan.

It was then that the Chennai slide started. First Andrew Flintoff (16) hit a Ashish Nehra delivery to long off for substitute David Warner to take the catch.

Vettori dismissed Subramaniam Badrinath (7) in the 19th over and three deliveries later Manpreet Gony was run out.

Chennai lost Joginder Sharma and Lakshmipathy Balaji in the last over and even though Albie Morkel (13) tried his best to clear the fence, all he could manage was only singles.

Chennai Super Kings were 106/2 in 10 overs in pursuit of 190.

Hayden starred in the Chennai run chase slamming his fourth IPL fifty. He hit 3 sixes and 5 fours in his 57-run knock off 27 balls before he was caught at long on by Dirk Nannes off Sangwan.

This was the second wicket for Sangwan who in his previous over had Parthiv Patel (16) caught at to point by AB de Villiers to take the catch.

Earlier, AB de Villiers hit his maiden, unbeaten IPL century to lead Delhi Daredevils to a mammoth score of 189/5 in 20 overs. Delhi Daredevils’ AB de Villiers acknowledges his unbeaten 100 during the IPL Twenty20 match against Chennai Super Kings at Kingsmead in Durban on April 23, 2009. AFP Photo
de Villiers’ blitzkrieg knock of 105 came off 54 balls and was studded with 6 sixes and 5 fours.

de Villiers hit 2 sixes and 2 fours in one over by Andrew Flintoff and his onslaught spared none of the Chennai Super Kings bowlers, not even his country man Albie Morkel whom he hit for a four and a six in the 17th over.

de Villiers reached his century off 51 balls and 50 off 35 balls.

Delhi lost their fifth wicket when Manoj Tiwary (9) hit a slower ball from Lakshmipathy Balaji to deep mid-wicket for Flintoff to take the catch.

Dinesh Karthik (18) hit to deep mid-wicket where Flintoff moved to his left to take the catch.

Delhi Daredevils were 90/3 in 10 overs.

Delhi got off to a poor start when they lost Gautam Gambhir on the very first ball off Lakshmipathy Balaji. Gambhir walked down the pitch, left the ball but was a bit lazy to take his hands completeley out of the way and the ball edged off the gloves and Mahendra Singh Dhoni took an easy catch.

In the next over Delhi captain Virender Sehwag (6) mistimed a pull high up in the air for Albie Morkel to take the catch at mid-on off Manpreet Gony.

But de Villiers and Tillakaratne Dilshan put up a 68-run partnership to put Delhi back on track. The Dilshan-de Villiers duo reached the the 50-run partnership off just 23 balls.

Dilshan slammed his maiden IPL fifty off just 24 balls with the help of 2 sixes and 7 fours before hitting a full toss from Morkel to the covers for Suresh Raina to take the catch.

This was after Delhi Daredevils captain Sehwag won the toss and chose to bat first.


Delhi Daredevils: Virender Sehwag (Capt.), Gautam Gambhir, Tillakaratne Dilshan, AB de Villiers, Dinesh Karthik, Manoj Tiwary, Daniel Vettori, Dirk Nannes, Aavishkar Salvi, Pradeep Sangwan, Ashish Nehra.

Chennai Super Kings: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Capt.), Parthiv Patel, Matthew Hayden, Suresh Raina, Andrew Flintoff, Albie Morkel, Subramaniam Badrinath, Joginder Sharma, Manpreet Gony, Lakshmipathy Balaji, Muttiah Muralitharan.

About admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *