Breaking News

Cricket World Cup 2011 trophy unveiled in Dhaka

The countdown for the 2011 Cricket World Cup has begun officially with the unveiling of the trophy at a ceremony in the Bangabandhu Conference Centre in Dhaka, Bangladesh.

Bangladesh is hosting the tournament jointly with India and Sri Lanka.

Sharad Pawar, the chairman of the 2011 Cricket World Cup Central Organising Committee, formally handed over the trophy to the presidents of the relevant cricket boards: AHM Mustafa Kamal of Bangladesh; Shashank Manohar of India; and Somachandra de Silva of Sri Lanka.

International Cricket Council (ICC) chief executive officer Haroon Lorgat was also present at the ceremony.

The tournament will begin on February 17, 2011, with Bangladesh hosting the opening ceremony.

India will host 29 matches of the 14-nation tournament at eight venues; Sri Lanka will host 12 matches at three venues; and Bangladesh will host eight games at two places.

About The Roar

Articles written by "The Roar" are compiled by various authors and then put online to give you the very best from all the worlds. The Roar is an e-magazine for the youth to express their views on issues of concern. Society, Politics, Environment, Science and Technology, Education, Development, Sports, Awareness and much more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *