Breaking News

Cricket Australia unveils schedule for 2009-10

Australia will play six Tests, 10 ODIs and three Twenty20 internationals on home soil against West Indies and Pakistan as per the 2009-10 International Program announced by the Cricket Australia on Wednesday.

The 2009-10 schedule again sees two separate five-match, head-to-head Commonwealth Bank Series against the West Indies in January followed by a series against Pakistan in February.

There will be another three KFC Twenty20 Internationals this summer, one against Pakistan and two against the West Indies in February.

Australia will play Pakistan on home soil for the first time in a Test series since 2004-05, when they won 3-0.

The Aussies will start on November 26 in Brisbane against the West Indies, with the subsequent matches in Adelaide (December 4-8) and Perth (December 16-20).

The Test series against Pakistan will start from December 26 with the traditional Boxing Day Test at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, followed by the second Test in Sydney (January 3-7) and the third at Hobart (January 14-18).

“The last time Australia played Pakistan in Hobart it was a thrilling encounter that saw a magnificent partnership between Justin Langer and Adam Gilchrist steer Australia to victory on the final day. It was a fine example of Test cricket,” Cricket Australia chief executive officer James Sutherland said.

“In addition to the 3 Mobile Test, Hobart will also host their first KFC Twenty20 International against the West Indies in February.

“Melbourne hosts back-to-back international matches in early February. A KFC Twenty20 International against Pakistan is followed by the opening Commonwealth Bank Series match against the West Indies two days later,” he added.

After the Tests, Australia will play Pakistan and West Indies in back-to-back five-math ODI series starting January 22.

About admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *