Breaking News

UPA leads over NDA as counting on

New Delhi, May 16 (ANI): The Congress-led UPA is surging ahead of the BJP-led NDA in early trends as counting is underway for 543 Lok Sabha constituencies.

As per latest reports, the UPA is leading in 214 seats and the NDA in 135 seats. The Third Front is leading in 57 and Others are leading in 28.

The Congress-led UPA is leading in Kerala and Rajasthan while the NDA is ahead in Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Bihar and Himachal Pradesh. The Congress is also leading in BSP-stronghold of Uttar Pradesh.

Congress general secretary Rahul Gandhi is ahead in Amethi, Sachin Pilot in Ajmer, P Chidambaram in Sivaganga and Shashi Tharoor in Thiruvananthapuram were also ahead.

BJP candidate Jaswant Singh is leading in Darjeeling.

From Congress, Janardhan Poojari and Margaret Alva are straggling in Karnataka. Commerce and Industry Minister Kamal Nath is trailing in Chhindwara in Madhya Pradesh while former Prime Minister H D Deve Gowda is leading in Hassan in Karnataka.

RJD chief Lalu Prasad is leading in Pataliputra, but trailing in Siwan in Bihar.

Among the Congress candidates who are leading in early trends are Priya Dutt (Mumbai North), Jyotiraditya Scindia (Guna), Pranab Mukherjee (Jangipur) and Sandeep Dikshit (East Delhi).

The BJP’s Prime Ministerial candidate L K Advani is ahead in Gandhinagar in Gujarat. Other candidates from BJP including Vinod Khanna, Sushma Swaraj and Varun Gandhi are leading from Gurdaspur, Vidisha and Pilibhit respectively. 

Counting began at 8:00 a.m. in all 28 states and seven union territories. Votes polled in elections to state assemblies of Andhra Pradesh, Orissa and Sikkim are also being counted simultaneously.

The results are expected to decide the fate of 8,070 contestants, including 556 women.

Around 1,080 counting centres have been set up across 28 states and seven union territories with 4,260 counting halls.

A little over half of the 71.377 crore registered voters cast their ballots through Electronic Voting Machines in the five-phased elections that began on April 16 and ended on May 13. (ANI)

About admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *