Breaking News

Polling for second phase of Lok Sabha elections begins

New Delhi, April 23 (ANI): Polling for the second phase of Lok Sabha elections began today amid tight security.

In this phase, the election is being held in 141 Lok Sabha constituencies spread across 13 states and Union Territories.

The states going to the polls in this phase include Andhra Pradesh (20 seats), Assam (11), Bihar (13), Goa (2), Jammu and Kashmir (1), Karnataka (17), Madhya Pradesh (13), Maharashtra (25), Manipur (1), Orissa (11), Tripura (2), Uttar Pradesh (17) and Jharkhand (8).

The prominent leaders who are contesting include Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) chief Ram Vilas Paswan from Hajipur in Bihar, LJP leader and noted film-maker Prakash Jha, former JD-U leader and now an Independent candidate from Muzaffarpur (Bihar) George Fernandes, NCP supremo and Union Agriculture Minister Sharad Pawar and senior Congress leader and Union Energy Minister Sushil Kumar Shinde from the newly carved Madha and Solapur (city) Lok Sabha constituencies respectively.

Other are Rahul Gandhi from Amethi in Uttar Pradesh, Swaraj from Vidisha in Madhya Pradesh, Union Commerce and Industry Minister Kamal Nath from Chhindwara constituency in Madhya Pradesh, Akhilesh Prasad Singh from Purvi Champaran in Bihar, Raghuvansh Prasad Singh from Vaishali in Bihar and Raghunath Jha from Valmikinagar in Bihar.

A total of 2,041 candidates, including 121 women, are in the fray. 

Polling has already been completed in 124 seats in the first phase on April 16.

In the first phase, 58 to 62 per cent of 143 million voters exercised their right to vote.

The five phased polls will be held in Jammu and Kashmir and Uttar Pradesh while Bihar will have four-phased elections.

Maharashtra and West Bengal will witness three phased polls while Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Orissa and Punjab will have elections in two phases.

Remaining 15 states and seven union territories will have one-day polling.

The counting of votes will take place on May 16.

The 543-member House will be constituted before June 2. (ANI)

About admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *