Breaking News

India signs nuclear pact with Argentina, 7th since NSG waiver

India and Argentina signed an agreement in civil nuclear cooperation and nine other pacts with a desire to establish strategic partnership.

The agreements were signed after wide-ranging talks between Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and Argentine President Cristina Fernando de Kirchner here.

The Agreement for Cooperation in the Peaceful Uses of Nuclear Energy was signed by Vivek Katju, Secretary (West) in the Ministry of External Affairs and Argentine foreign minister Jorge Talana.

Argentina became the seventh country with which India has signed a civil nuclear agreement after the 45-nation Nuclear Suppliers Group lifted a 34-year-old ban on nuclear commerce in September last year.

India has already signed similar pacts with the US, France, Russia, Kazakhstan, Namibia and Mongolia.

A joint statement issued after the talks said India and Argentina will make use of the synergies between the two countries and the vast experience of their nuclear scientists and technologists.

“Taking into account their respective capabilities and experience in the peaceful uses of nuclear energy, both India and Argentina have agreed to encourage and support scientific technical and commercial cooperation for mutual benefit in this field,” it said.

About admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *