Breaking News

Government’s top priority will be restoring economy: PM

New Delhi, May 22 (ANI): Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh after taking oath of office and secrecy on Friday said that his government’s focus will be on restoring the economy and ensure inclusive growth.

“Our first priority is to restore the economy, especially keeping the global recession (in mind),” the Prime Minister told reporters.

“Industrial production is down. Certain sectors need revival, though the Indian economy is not so badly affected. Corrected measures have to be taken. Growth will be our main focus. And when I mean growth, I mean inclusive growth that will carry everyone along, including the underprivileged in the country,” he said.

The Prime Minister also expressed hopes that Pakistan would cooperate with New Delhi “on all matters.”

Earlier, President Pratibha Patil administered oath of office and secrecy to Prime Minister Manmohan Singh along with 19 Cabinet ministers.

The 76-year-old, soft-spoken economist is the first Prime Minister since post-independence after Jawaharlal Nehru to be returned to office after completing a full term.

Senior Congress leader Pranab Mukherjee, NCP chief Sharad Pawar, A K Antony, P Chidambaram, Trinamool Congress chief Mamata Banerjee, former Chief Ministers S M Krishna, Ghulam Nabi Azad, and Veerappa Moily were inducted in the Cabinet.

Kamal Nath, Sushilkumar Shinde, S Jaipal Reddy, Meira Kumar, Vayalar Ravi, Murli Deora, Kapil Sibal, B K Handique, Ambika Soni, Anand Sharma and C P Joshi also took oath as Cabinet Ministers.

Mukherjee is likely to retain finance portfolio, which he got as additional charge towards the end of the tenure of the outgoing government.

The names of Krishna and Kamal Nath are being mentioned for External Affairs Ministry. Chidambaram and Antony are expected to retain home and defence respectively. 

Today’s swearing-in would be followed by an expansion of the Council of Ministers on May 26. The expansion would include Cabinet Ministers, Ministers of State (MoS) with independent charge as well as other Ministers of State. (ANI)

About admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *