Breaking News

Gavit takes over as Pro-tem Speaker, Parliament members take oath

New Delhi, June 1 (ANI): Manikrao Gavit, senior most member of the Lok Sabha, was appointed as Pro-tem Speaker by President Pratibha Patil on Monday.

Gavit was administered oath by the President in Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Vice President Hamid Ansari, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and Parliamentary Affairs Minister PK Bansal attended the ceremony.

Nine-term parliamentarian, Gavit will undertake the duties of the Speaker of the Lok-Sabha until the new speaker is elected on June 3.

Soon after his appointment as the Pro-tem Speaker, Gavit began administering oath to the Members of Parliament of the newly constituted 15th Lok Sabha in the Parliament House.

First two days of the current session have been reserved for administering oath to the members of the Lok Sabha.

Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee was the first to take oath in the capacity of the leader of Lok Sabha. Following him was LK Advani, senior leader of the Bharatiya Janata party, who is also the leader of Opposition in Lok Sabha. (ANI)

About admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *