Breaking News

Election Commission to meet President with list of new MPs

New Delhi, May 18 (ANI): The Election Commission will formally submit the list of newly-elected Lok Sabha members to President Pratibha Patil on Monday.

The new House is constituted by the Election Commission, which performs this work within two to three days of declaration of results.

The three-member Election Commission comprising the Chief Election Commissioner Navin Chawla along with two other commissioners S. Y. Quraishi and V. S. Sampat will call on the President at 6.00 in the evening, a Rashtrapati Bhavan official stated.

President Patil will make the customary address to the first and brief joint session of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, which will mark the beginning of the new House.

Before convening the new session, the President will administer oath to pro-tem speaker, the senior most among the elected members, for swearing-in of new members.

The newly-elected Lok Sabha to be constituted after the elections is all set to have a full budget session in June which will last till August, but it will have no monsoon session this year. (ANI)

About admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *